276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Did You Hear about Kitty Karr?: A Novel

£11.995£23.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

It was no easy feat competing with politics, and the pause in presidential tweet reports spoke to the breadth of Kitty’s legacy. She starts to break after she has her too dark skinned baby who she allows her midwife to adopt so she isn’t outed by her husband. Now she's been nominated for an Oscar that could expand her successful acting career, but she's not sure if that's what she wants.

Sometimes in books with multiple timelines, I enjoy one more than the other and that was the case here — I strongly preferred the 1950s storyline, which I found more interesting between the two. That said, the book does address several important issues: racism, colorism within the Black community, and sexism within the Hollywood machine. Propulsive and entertaining, with broad historical relevance and critical cultural significance, this is the uniquely American story we all need to read―it holds a piece of all of us. is reminiscent of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and The Vanishing Half, both of which I highly recommend. Crystal Smith Paul attended Spelman College and UCLA’s School of Theater, Film and Television and received her master’s in journalism from NYU.Perhaps more poignant are the brave and strategic choices made by prior generations of women determined to secure better lives for their children with no assurances that those choices would be rewarded. Feeling a rush of tears, Elise turned from the kitchen entry and walked farther down the driveway to the backyard. John estate, the labyrinth was constructed of leafy green hedges and rose bushes that increased in height and girth further into the maze. Everyone but Elise and a couple others seem terrified of letting Kitty's secret out, but it's not clearly explained why. John is one of three sisters who have been rich and famous since birth because of their parents’ talents.

We didn't realize anyone's importance or struggles until the end and by then, it was hard to feel or empathize with anyone. There were multiple times I read a sentence and had to think to myself, what was the point of that information. Underdeveloped and/or Boring Main Characters: Elise, the older sister and our main point of view, seemed miserable in her life yet also unwilling to do anything about it until Kitty's gift which made for a chore to read. But I’m pretty picky on how late I’ll read a book now because I need my energy to keep with an active toddler! But what she discovers in one of Kitty’s journals rocks her world harder than any other brewing scandal could—and between a cheating fiancé and the fallout from a controversial social media post, there are plenty.

Though Paul crowds the narrative with far too many underdeveloped characters and makes a few too many implausible plot leaps, she ably describes Kitty’s transformation and unflinchingly details the racism, misogyny, and exploitation Kitty faced as a young woman. is a dual timeline story, set in the 1950s and 2017, featuring old Hollywood as well as the modern film industry. It starts with the death of Kitty Karr Tate, a White silver screen legend, who leaves her entire estate to the St. This author has given readers an extremely interesting storyline that can be discussed for quite some time. Now the Internet’s going to be flooded with hypothetical stories about my wedding, when it’s supposed to be flooded with news about my movie,” Elise complained in the car.

John sisters are hard to relate to, and having them already millionaires who weren't truly affected by Kitty's gift made me want to care less about them.When she passes away, the world is shocked to find out she left her massive multi-million dollar estate to her next door neighbors: the St. The "Present": This book is set in 2017, which is mostly due to the racial undertones of the book and that time in the US and has dual timelines between the past and "present" (2017) until we come upon the current conflict. For fans of Evelyn Hugo and Dava Shastri's Last Day, a highly anticipated read that showcases a main character who sacrifices so much and relevant themes like motherhood, identity, and fame, but struggles to truly land on a message. Tom’s mouth moved as if he was about to say caliente, but instead, he merely extended his hands to open dialogue.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment